The Runkle Award

The SVHFS offers recognition to members or amateurs in three areas of VHF, UHF, and microwave activities.

One of those initiated by the Southeastern VHF Society is in memory of Fred Runkle K4KAZ, one of the founders of SVHFS. Fred was our model for technical ability and our go-to guy for questions about RF and test equipment. He did the NF measurements at the conference for several years. Fred was an EE and worked for Collins Radio and Scientific Atlanta among others during his career. He also ran a small electronics laboratory, FSR Labs, from his home shack and shop. He became a Silent Key in late 2006.

The Runkle Award will recognize technical excellence and ability in the Amateur Radio VHF, UHF and Microwave Weak Signal communities. An engraved plaque will be presented each year at the annual SVHFS Banquet.

The members of SVHFS make nominations each year for the annual Runkle award. Nominations are made to the SVHFS President or an appointed committee and the nominees are voted on by the SVHFS Board of Directors. The President or appointee tallies the votes and obtains an engraved plaque for presentation.

Any SVHFS member (anyone who has ever attended an SVHFS conference) may make a nomination. The nominees do not have to be SVHFS members, but it is generally assumed and requested that they will be attending the conference and banquet to receive the award. A brief bio and background on your nominees qualifications are requested for the Board to consider and for the banquet presentation. The recipient is not informed of the award beforehand if possible.

Past Awards
Year Name
2009 Pieter Ibelings, N4IP
2011 Steve Kostro, N2CEI
2012 Steve Powlishen, K1FO